How to Fix Bad Credit with Terrica Matthews

pexels-photo-417395

We all fall into a rut where our credit is impacted severely.  Or we just mismanaged our money or abuse our credit. Some situations we can’t prevent like being laid off, going through a divorce, becoming ill,  income coming in is low, and while on unpaid maternity leave and bills go unpaid. It happens its part of life.

The great thing is that we can prepare and become educated when it comes to our finances and credit. So that we can be prepared when life events happen. I had the pleasure of interviewing  Ms. “Home of the Credit Score Queen”. She shares with us how you can start repairing your credit and her purpose behind building her business.

Tell us a little bit about yourself. And your company?

I’m Terrica Matthew, the mother of an energetic and sociable 14-year-old boy named Ka’Darius. I enjoy spending quality time with my family, reading, exploring the world, and executing my many goals and aspirations.

Premier Planning and Consulting Group, LLC is a licensed, bonded, FICO (Fair Isaac and Company) certified, and insured personal finance firm. We gladly offer sound solutions in the areas of credit repair/restoration, personal and business income tax preparation, and home buying.  I’m excited about all that we have accomplished and will continue to accomplish at Premier Planning and Consulting Group, LLC. The journey has not always been an easy one but God is good and I’m blessed to be able to wake up with breath in my body, to serve, operate in my purpose and help others accomplish their dreams. I’ve been so excited about our future as I’m convinced that great things are in store.

What lead you to start a business in this industry?

Purpose. Honestly, the credit repair/restoration industry found me, I helped a good bit of my family members and friends and then it just spiraled from there prompting me to step out on faith, quit my 9-5 in corporate America, and take my business endeavors to the next level. Also, there was a gap in the local market that needed to be filled. The credit repair industry has had a black eye since its inception with so many scams and marketing techniques that were misleading, so I decided to start a business that would always kindly tell the consumer what they needed to hear instead of what they wanted to hear. With the topic of “credit” being the big elephant in the room, I find joy in knowing that Premier Planning and Consulting Group operates off of transparency, realness, and results with all of our clients.

How long have you been in business?

I have been in business since 2013.

Your tag line ” Home of the Credit Score Queen” is very catchy how did you come up with that name?

Thanks a lot. A previous client, Donna Cage titled me “The Credit Score Queen” and I went with it. When I get to “Oprah status,” I’ll definitely be cutting Ms. Cage her check. LOL. Until then, be sure to support her balloon design business on Instagram @designsbydot_

Tell us about the services you offer. What do you recommend for someone who doesn’t know where to start when it comes to repairing their credit?

We offer credit repair/credit restoration, income tax preparation to individuals and small businesses, financial literacy seminars, and homeownership assistance. The first start to begin repairing your credit is to access your free annual credit report at www.annualcreditreport.com.

What tips can you provide someone to get them on the road to recovery?

The best tip I would give is to just get started. You won’t get to recovery if you do not start. Your credit will impact you positively or negatively for your entire lifespan, it’s certainly not a bad idea to dedicate 3-12 months to ensure that your entire financial portfolio is strong.

Because you work with so many people from various backgrounds, professions, and income levels what are some common traits you notice among them? 

Many consumers do not have solid knowledge of the fundamentals of credit. Almost every day myself or one of my team members find ourselves explaining what credit repair is and what credit repair is not.

pexels-photo

What are some credit myths you have heard from customers, passed down from friends and family?

One of the biggest myths that most clients have is surrounding paying off a vehicle or installment loan. They don’t quite understand that these types of accounts are rated differently than others and that often times, the credit score will decrease once these accounts paid off and closed versus increasing.

What do you feel is the most common money-related mistake that Americans make today?

Keeping up with the Joneses, imagery, and not practicing delayed gratification.

We are a “microwave society,” we want what we want right then and there causing us to fail at prioritizing what is of utmost importance and that is leaving a strong financial legacy for future generations.

At Premier Planning and Consulting Group, LLC Home of The Credit Score Queen, we provide our clients with an executable monthly cash flow plan so that they can make their money work for them. Also, we provide them with sound solutions that will help them increase their credit score, eliminate debt, begin the home buying process, and then move forward to more solid wealth building tactics (real estate investment and/ or small business development). I’m implementing and executing the same tactics that I advise my clients to follow so I’m always open to sharing my journey with my clients by showing them my credit score and what tactics I execute when eliminating debt. We celebrate one another’s accomplishments… when one Win, we all Win!

 Do you have any upcoming seminars, promotions, or events?

Yes, I will be hosting many Money Matters seminars with other industry professionals through my chapter of 100 Black Women of Metropolitan Baton Rouge. The first seminar will take place on June 27, 2017. Also, I will be announcing new services provided through our agency soon as well as our next Financial Literacy Boot Camp very soon.

If you are ready to get your credit on point and want to reach a 700+ credit score minimum and to learn more about the services available through The Credit Score Queen, please call 225-412-4698 or visit premierpcg.com.

Premier Planning and Consulting Group, LLC
Home of The Credit Score Queen
11824 Bricksome Avenue. Suite B
Baton Rouge, La 70816
Phone: 225-412-4698
Fax: 225-412-4618
Email: terrica@premierpcg.com
Website: www.premierpcg.com

Shanna A. Jefferson, MSW, LCSW, LISW-CPS is a Life Coach, Psychotherapist, and Author. (1)

 

 

Leave a Reply

