From Human Resources to the Emergency Room with LeShanda Davis

 

IMG_0618

This is an interview that’s well overdue. I met Ms. LeShanda Davis at an All White Brunch hosted by Lille Mae of Lillie Mae Pr in Charlotte, NC this year. We were both panelist for the brunch. We connected instantly due to our passion for helping others and  business knowledge in regards to starting businesses, and the importance of establishing and building relationships.

We are here today because her company The HR ER is a Proud Sponsor for Meet the Authors . I asked her to shed some light on the importance of having human resources as an integral part of a business.

Get Inspired……

Tell us about you and your company?

Sure, my name is LeShanda Miller Davis and I presently reside in Charlotte. I am a Human Resources Director for a nationwide staffing company. I have worked in every area of HR over the last 17 years. I have specialized in Employee Relations for the last 10 years.

I am also involved in my community. I have previously served on non-profit boards. Currently, I serve as VP for Big Dreamz Inc in which they provide opportunities and experience for girls 9-18. I am also the Sr. VP for the National Association of African-Americans in HR, Charlotte Chapter. 

How long have you been in business? And what services does your company offer?

I have been in business for almost 2 years. The HR ER is a boutique firm that specializes in providing small, medium and unconventional businesses with HR functions. I cater the offerings to the business’s needs. I can cover everything from hiring, firing, labor posters, investigations, mediation, and everything in between. I also offer services for individuals who are interested in HR, have HR questions or concerns, or if they need education on their rights. Just think of me as your Human Resources Coach! 

HR_ER_Social_Media

What made you start a business in Human Resources?

 My passion and drive for HR led me to open the HR ER. The ER stands for Employee Relations and Emergency (ER) because they both go hand in hand for small businesses. Most small businesses don’t know that they need HR until it’s too late and they have already made a mistake. This is a devastating blow for smaller businesses and could lead to them having to close their doors. Small businesses often feel that they can not afford an HR consultant or that they don’t need one. I am here to show them differently. Every business needs HR. I also started this because I always run across individuals who were discriminated against or treated unfairly in their role or position. I want to educate others on their rights. 

As a female entrepreneur what challenges have you faced with your business? How did you overcome it?

As a female entrepreneur, I faced challenges of credibility and image. When it comes to HR, the majority of the workforce have not had pleasant interactions with their HR department. Also, for entrepreneurs, they feel that HR will come in a take over their businesses and cost them more money. I overcame these issues by getting to know the businesses and their industries. Spending time with them and building relationships has gotten me over that hump. 

If you had the opportunity to start your business over again from the ground up, what would you do differently?

I would definitely have started first with partnering with my local SCORE chapter and Small Business Associations (SBA). These free resources set you up for success from the idea phase and they still support you when you are fully functioning. I am part of these organizations now but I wish I had them from the beginning. It would have saved me some mistakes. I had to go back and redo some things that I missed that helped my business tremendously. 

Do you have words of inspiration for anyone looking to start a business?

Don’t be afraid to ask for help. Use your state supported resources. These resources have been tested and they also help you find your own way. Don’t try to duplicate someone else’s path to success. Make your own! Don’t be scared to fail forward. 

How can our readers keep in contact with you on and off social media?

Absolutely! Feel free to visit my website at www.thehrer.com. There you can find ways to join my email list, schedule appointments and how to email me at leshandamd@thehrer.com.

You will also find my social media handles there as well. 

Instagram & Twitter: @thehrer1

Facebook & Pinterest: The HR ER 

It was definitely a pleasure speaking with you and thanks for sharing your story.

Please come back and keep us updated with new changes in your company. Thanks again as always.

Shanna A. Jefferson, MSW, LCSW, LISW-CPS is a Life Coach, Psychotherapist, and Author. (1)

Leave a Reply

