Betrayed by Love, Adorn by Lies: Author Nisha Lanae Talks with Get INSPIRED

FullSizeRender (3)

Meet the Author Nisha Lanae, writer, speaker, and owner of Concrete Rose Publication LLC. At the age of 12, Ms. Lanae stumbled across her purpose and didn’t know. Her passion and drive to write short stories came easy and drew her closer to becoming a profound author and writer. Writing silenced the noise and havoc surrounding her. Today she shares with us her life journey as writer and publisher.

Get INSPIRED……

So to start off tell us a little bit about yourself and background.

 My real name is Tanisha, but I write under Nisha Lanae which is a combination of my nickname and my middle name. I am 28 years old and I was born and raised most of my life in Los Angeles, CA. I have also lived in Arizona, Texas, Ohio and Louisiana. Louisiana was my favorite and is my second home. I am a lover of written work by my passion is writing gritty, steamy and real life urban fiction stories. I started writing when I was very young. I started writing to mentally escape life. I am the offspring of two addicts which fueled the stories I wrote when I was younger about wishing to have another life.

concreterose

I fell in love with urban literature when I was 13/14 years old after reading “Fly Girl” by Omar Tyree and then followed with “The Coldest Winter Ever” by Sistah Souljah. By the time I made it to high school I discovered “Street Literature In” Teri Woods True to the Game, Shannon Holmes B-more careful and Wahilda Clark’s Thug’s series. It was then I knew I wanted to write urban fiction. I wanted to write and tell those gritty tales about hood love and life in the urban community. I started writing stories in compositions notebooks with a few of my friends while in high school for fun that describe the world around us.   In 2012, at the age of 23. I published my first short story eBooks series titled Penthouse which was later changed and released as a full novel in 2013 now titled Dice the Queen of Murder.

 Who INSPIRED you to become an entrepreneur and author? 

 Being an avid reader and having a head full of Ideas is what inspired me to become an author. For as long as I can remember everything I wanted to do in life revolved around me wanting to be my own boss. So being an entrepreneur was something that came naturally for me. It’s not easy, but I know in the end it will all be worth it.

I wrote when I was younger about wishing to have another life.

How did you come up with the title of your book? 

 Usually my book titles are what come to me first and then the story line. I can come up with a book title by a conversation I hear in passing, a song, and movie. My mind is always on a 100.  Along writing the storylines sometimes the title may change. As soon as I come up with a book title I usually go to Google and Amazon to make sure it doesn’t take. I always try to create catchy tiles that grab readers attention especially those who may have never read a book by me. 

What made you sit down and decide to write your book?

 The advice and push from my ex-boyfriend. My father died around the time I started to have thoughts of actually putting my mind to finishing something rather than just writing and giving up like so many times before. My father’s death sent me into a depression.  So I made a habit of coming home every day after work and writing to channel the hurt and pain of losing my father. Three weeks later I finished the series of Penthouse

concrete

What is the main thing you want readers to take away from your book?

 Although, I write urban fiction. I have always deemed my writing a mixture of where fiction and reality meet. Although it is coming from a fiction sense it can be someone you know or even yourself.  I always try to create relatable characters that my readers can connect to. I want to not only entertain them with my words but also inspire and motivate them.

How did you overcome the challenges and/or obstacles you mention in your book?

In my previously released books, I have covered topics such as prostitution, self-love, love, cheating, envy, domestic violence etc.  Although, I have not been through all of that. I did have an issue of not looking in the mirror and loving the person looking back at me. As a young girl, my mother wasn’t there very much due to her addiction. So I missed a lot of the talks about self-love and knowing your worth that most young girls get from their mothers. I did grow up in and out of my aunt’s house who gave gems about life but it wasn’t mama. That played a big part in my life. Missing a mother leaves a young girl a little lost and always searching. I was always teased or boxed into who others thought and wanted me to be, that I had no self-identity. I was super insecure and I am still working on that today.

Along the way, I have been blessed to have woman, family, and non-family come in my life and show me what it is like to not love yourself and what it is like to love yourself and that in order to love anyone else you have to love yourself first. That happiness and joy start with you, in your heart.  That topic and time in my life inspired a tattoo I have on my hand that say’s P.S I love me which is a reminder to always love myself, always love myself first.

Watch what others around you are doing. DON’T copy.

Where can our readers purchase your book?

You can purchase the Nisha Lanae collection from Amazon.com, BN.com, BAM.com and my business website www.Concreterosepublication.com


Are there any nuggets of wisdom you can impart to aspiring writers? betrayed

Get tough skin. Everyone is not going to like your work, and that is okay. Never argue with a reader over a bad review. Simply thank them for the review or don’t say anything at all. Use those bad reviews as lessons learned to go harder and do better the next time around. Review your work more than one time. Write your first draft as if no one will ever read it. Write daily and always give your best no matter what. When you know you have given your best I promise those bad reviews won’t matter because you know you have given your best. Watch what others around you are doing. DON’T copy. But always pay attention and apply what you need to your life, your way.

Are you working on any upcoming projects? And what can we expect from you in the future? 

I am working on my 5th novel which is titled “Still a Ghetto Rose” and is the second part in my “Ghetto Rose” series which should be released in late October (hopefully). I just finished up a short story titled “Abused by Love” in an anthology titled “Betrayed by Love Adored by Lies” which dropped July 22, 2017.  I am working on my Blog #Iamtheconcreterose.com  where I am sharing my life stories and struggles and other woman struggle to break the silence within us women. I want the site to be a safe haven for women to come and express their self and get help, inspiration, and encouragement from other women.

To connect with  Nisha Lanae follow her on social media.

IG:  pendiva_nishalanae   
Facebook:  Nisha Lanae/ Author_Nisha Lanae 
Twitter: pendiva_nisha    
Website: Nishalanae.com

Follow Get INSPIRED on INSTAGRAM

Shanna A. Jefferson, MSW, LCSW, LISW-CPS is a Life Coach, Psychotherapist, and Author. (1)

 

Leave a Reply

