Start Your Business To Improve Your Health

 

Happy.jpg

If you had asked me a year ago how my life would look today, my expression would be blank. I had been planning my great escape from corporate America for years but this time last year my plans seemed more solid. Everything seemed so real but I was still hesitant and afraid to make the leap. The company I worked for had just been acquired by another company and we were three months into the transition. I was stressed and confused. The new company was at best all over the place, demanding and insensitive. I felt torn by what stood before me, a stressful job that paid the bills or a peaceful small business in its infancy. I couldn’t focus on my own wants and needs because my job was draining me and literally making me sick.

I am normally a healthy person. I can count on my hands how many times I’ve gotten sick in the last 20 years. So, when I started to have certain symptoms, I knew it was job-related. I’ve been meditating since 2010 and I am very aware of how my life was being guided. I knew my time at that job was over but I was afraid of the unknown. My resentment was building as my work-life-balance was starting to crumble, adding more pressure to an already stressful situation. On one hand, I was praying to lead to the best of my abilities, yet I felt overwhelmed by this work transition. My resentment was showing up as shortness of breath, sinus issues, and insomnia which started to keep me from work and my business. It would be another six months before I made my final decision and started to execute a plan.

stress.jpg

I am now five months into full-time entrepreneurship and I amazed by how my life has changed. Making the decision to leave a full-time job is not an easy decision. It requires a lot of planning and courage. However, you don’t have to quit your day job, starting your business now can improve your health in the meantime. Taking even small steps toward launching or growing your own business will dramatically improve your health and well-being. It will also signify that you are taking steps toward independence. Here are three benefits to launching a business to improve your well-being.

FREE

Share Our Gifts and Talents. Often, we are stuck in jobs that don’t truly tap into our talents and gifts. We get pigeon holed into being one dimensional and management rarely sees the many hats that we wear outside of the office.  For instance, working moms are also chefs, nurses, event planners, managers, artists, teachers, bookkeepers along with many other things in their household. Starting a business allows you to showcase your many hidden talents and can add more meaning to your life.

Increase Creativity. Creativity improves your health and happiness. Launching a business will bring out your creative genius. We each have a unique perspective of the world, you can use your viewpoint to add value to the world. Although you might not need to reinvent the wheel, your unique view can redesign, redefine and make life easier for someone else. By thinking outside of the box, you have the potential to creatively solve some of life’s frustrations.

More Social. The longer I worked in corporate America the less I liked people. In retrospect, it wasn’t the people but the face I had to wear to fit into the environment that didn’t feed my soul. As a business owner, it’s as if I have turned over a new leaf.  I like people again. In fact, I love networking events and conferences because I get to spend time with people who like the same things I like. Being a business owner pushes you to the forefront and your success ties into how social you are. We are meant to be social beings regardless of the many walls we continue to construct that says otherwise. When you love what you do, you want to share it with other people.

Now that my focus is totally on my business, I am much more creative these days. My breathing and sinus issues have also dissolved. I am less stressed, much happier and more content with my life. I finally have a say in what happens next for me.  Finding something that gives your life meaning will improve your overall health and well-being.

Follow Tiffanie Luellen on Instagram

Melissa's 24th Birthday (4)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

